Grahamstown.

Hellooo there! 🙂

As it has been quite a while, a quick life update! I’ve been on holiday for the past two weeks after the end of exams (the year is halfway through, thank you Jesus!!). It’s been so, so nice to finally have the freedom to just do whatever and not feel guilty about it. One of the things I’ve gotten up to, was this.

About a week ago, my mother, sister and I were in Grahamstown for the annual National Arts Festival, which took place between the 29th of June and the 9th of July.

The Festival is made up of various programmes involving all things art related from ballet performances, opera, plays, street performers, buskers, musicians, art galleries, clothes and jewellery vendors – you name it, it’s all here!

The city of Grahamstown, also called ‘The City of Saints’, is pretty small in size (70 00 people) and is about 110 kilometres from it’s fellow Eastern Cape city, Port Elizabeth where I call home.

Nothing more beautiful than wide, open roads and clear blue skies!

Processed with VSCO

Unsurprisingly, Grahamstown was buzzing with people when we got there.

Processed with VSCOProcessed with VSCO

Our first stop!

Processed with VSCO with b5 presetProcessed with VSCOProcessed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO with b1 preset

I wouldn’t call myself an expert when it comes to fine art, and I don’t frequent art galleries, either, but I do appreciate all the work and attention to detail that goes in to it. I think music is a lot easier for me to relate to being someone who creates music and plays an instrument herself.

However I did grow up absolutely loving art, drawing and painting especially, but after the crushing disappointment of failing my art GCSE (year 11 O-level British system exam) I was quite put off. It was actually only the other week that I picked up a paintbrush for the first time in years while helping out with my church’s annual Holiday Club for kids. Seeing all this artwork in G-town made me miss that a little.

Processed with VSCO

Rhodes University! Where my mother herself went for her Masters. Also one of the universities I was accepted into before choosing to go to NMMU (perhaps I’ll return, as a student, someday. You never know!)

Processed with VSCO

We found the cutest little bookstore! I’d honestly be happy to spend the rest of my life reading books, there are a million lives to be lived, and countless adventures to embark on within these pages!

Processed with VSCO with b5 presetProcessed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

The second art gallery we happened upon. First-glance interpretations, anyone?

Processed with VSCOProcessed with VSCO with b5 presetProcessed with VSCO

The prettiest, little store…

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCOProcessed with VSCO

Bunting makes everything just a little more magical, don’t you think?

Processed with VSCO

The cafe we decided to have lunch at, The Bakery! Vegetarian pies for the wiiinnn ❤

Processed with VSCOProcessed with VSCOProcessed with VSCOProcessed with VSCO

How gorgeooouuuus is this floor?!?!

Processed with VSCO

These two were so so good! Side-note, are you a true musician if you’ve never busked (definition: play music in the street or other place for voluntary donations) before? I think not! I’m dying to try, someday! (Obviously not enough because I haven’t done it yet! I’m twenty, and the clock is tickiiinggg *cue Zedd and Alessia Cara song*)

Processed with VSCO

That’s all folks! Did you get my Looney Tunes reference? Haha, thanks for reading, friends 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

