Schoenmakerskop.

Hellooooo there beautiful people! 🌻

First and foremost, I’d like to say sorry for what has been the longest hiatus ever! When I first started blogging, I promised myself that I’d never ever become those bloggers who’d abandon their sites with zero explanation, yet here I am, lol. I guess life happens, and a whole lot has happened during the past couple of months.

I’ve also been having a dilemma over social media in general Β – if you read my post about social media you’ll know just how much I let it control my life sometimes, and how much I’m trying to fight that. Also just questioning the general direction I want this site to go. I don’t know. I always wanted to talk about something more withΒ this blog. As much as I love talking about food and travel, those aren’t the only things I want to talk about, here. I think what I want more than anything, is just to always be as free, open and honest as possible here. After all, isn’t that what blogs are for? πŸ™‚

So here is my second sorry of the day! For that terribly long-winded explanation. Back to our scheduled broadcast!

Processed with VSCO

Earlier on this year during Easter, a spur of the moment drive after church with my Mom led us to discovering the gorgeous little seaside village of Schoenmakerskop (Schoenies for short)! Schoenmakerskop makes up part of Port Elizabeth and the greater Nelson Mandela Bay municipality here in the Eastern Cape province of South Africa.

As much as I have spent the better part of my life visiting and living by the sea, this place still took my breath away. I honestly felt as if I had been transported to a whole other world, like I’d stepped on to the set of scenic short film on the other side of the world, somewhere far, far away from here.

Processed with VSCOProcessed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

Processed with VSCO

I always feel like my soul is being renewed when I’m by the sea, like magic-infused air is filling my lungs and breathing new life into me. It was such an unreal first visit. Especially after the stressful week it had been. It felt so good to run down the winding paths and scramble over the rock formations and watch the waves crash down below my feet, admire the views of the endless blue and the seaside homes dotted along the road. It’s a wonder how we never even knew this place existed having lived in P.E. for so long.

The flowers, the greenery, the hills, the rock pools, just so much to see and to explore.

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

My Mom and sister Gloria being their usual gorgeous selves. 😚🌹

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCOProcessed with VSCOProcessed with VSCO

Processed with VSCOProcessed with VSCOProcessed with VSCOProcessed with VSCOProcessed with VSCOProcessed with VSCOProcessed with VSCO with b5 presetProcessed with VSCOProcessed with VSCO

During our second visit we made a point to sample the neighbourhood restaurant: Sacramento. It’s a lovely, cosy little place with a family-oriented feel and ambience. But I must admit I wasn’t too impressed by their desserts. Mom let me order something else when I couldn’t endure eating the golden syrup covered waffles, so a brownie it was! Rather dry, and not exactly chocolate-y in taste. But as I like to say with restaurants, you win some you lose some!

Processed with VSCOProcessed with VSCOProcessed with VSCOProcessed with VSCOProcessed with VSCOProcessed with VSCO

Schoenmakerskop is a stunning little hideaway, and if you are ever in Nelson Mandela Bay you need to see this beauty for yourself. It’s the kind of place you need to experience first-hand to breathe life and experience into the picture I am trying to convey, after all, words only go so far.

Till next time, friends. β€Β πŸƒ

2 thoughts on “Schoenmakerskop.

Leave a Reply

