Turning Twenty.

It’s all fun and games till you’re standing in line to vote, going to the bank alone and your parents not telling the doctor what’s wrong with you, for you πŸ˜‚

Twenty. I’m trying my absolute best not to be afraid of that word.

It feels like I’ve had what feels like mid-life crisis after midlife crisis this year; what’s my life purpose? What am I doing with my life? Am I doing enough? Shouldn’t I have achieved more by now? What’s my future gonna be like? What career path am I meant to follow? The mental turmoil these questions have put me through….energy-draining to say the very least. All the while, I’m surrounded by ambitious driven people who seem to have everything together so early on. If you can relate then get over here and let’s hug it out (and cry together). πŸ˜‚

I no longer have the suffix -teen at the end of my age anymore, and it’s terrifying. Why?

The twenties spell out a whole new phase in my life; one that will include certain responsibilities that I’m not ready for, responsibilities that I don’t feel the slightest bit capable of taking on i.e Paying bills, getting a job, y’know,Β adulting.

In my mind I’m still 16 years old, and even that felt ancient at the time. Nowadays I see 16 year olds and am in awe of how young they are. Then I re-watch Gossip Girl and Teen Wolf where the characters are supposed to be 16 and I’m like????? Was obvs doing my teen years wrong πŸ˜‚ (Hollywood, stop casting 30-something year olds as teenagers).

But tbh, I think it’s all just societal conditioning that’s got me feeling this way. I’m an adult. So what? Nothing’s stopping me from doing everything that I used to do (despite the whole new world of responsibilities now resting on my shoulders). I’m gonna re-read Harry Potter for the sixth time, I’m gonna quote episodes of Kids Next Door, and I’m still gonna sing High School Musical songs loud enough to wake the dead.

Otherwise, it really has been a great day πŸ™‚ so thankful for my friends and family for making me feel so loved ❀

Anywho, I thought I’d list downΒ 20 things I’ve learned at the age of 20 ☺

  1. Don’t force relationships. How can you tell if you are? β€œDon’t be with people that make you feel like you’re hard to love”. Also side-note, relationships end or die out, sometimes you grow apart and that’s just a natural part of life. Those meant to be in your life will find their way back to you-I promise! Friends come and go (hold on to the good ones). I’ve started to make peace with this fact.
  2. You need your parents’ advice and guidance even more as you grow up-being an adult comes with no instruction manual. When I was little I always believed that to become an adult meant no longer needing your parents, but right Β now I feel like I need them more than ever. Being 20 is hella confusing.
  3. Age is just a number, it’s never too late to do something, don’t let people lead you to believe that you have to set a time limit on everything. And no, that’s not just my Peter-Pan-syndrome talking πŸ˜‚
  4. You are enough, just as you are. You don’t need validation from anywhere or anyone else. You don’t need to prove yourself to anyone. You don’t need to be, because you already are.
  5. Societal conditioning is a thing e.g gender roles. Break out of it. Question everything. Just because something is the way it is doesn’t mean it is the way it’s supposed to be.
  6. No one knows you better than you know yourself, trust your gut feeling.
  7. Your dreams are valid, don’t listen to people discouraging you because they gave up on theirs.
  8. Always try something new, get out of your comfort zone every now and then (If it doesn’t scare you it isn’t daring enough).
  9. Learn how to take constructive criticism. It’s meant to help, not harm or discourage you. But know the difference between constructive criticism and someone just being plain rude or trying to cut you down.
  10. You don’t owe anyone anything, don’t let anyone make you feel like you are indebted to them.
  11. There’s a time for everything, the time will come when the time is right.
  12. Failure is inevitable,Β you’re allowed to feel down about it, you’re only human! But don’t stay down!
  13. Bad days don’t last forever.Β As a quote I saw recently says, “If you’re having a bad day, just remember that you have managed to get through every bad day you’ve had. You’ll make it through this one too.”
  14. Focus on what matters.Β Things like looks fade away. Place your confidence in the things that matter. For me, that’s playing the guitar, or my relationship with God.
  15. Things are only as big of a deal as you make them
  16. Don’t let fear rule your life, one of the best pieces of advice my dad has given me is “Don’t base your decisions off of fear”.
  17. Stop caring about what people think of you, there are always gonna be people who don’t like you. Regardless of what you do or don’t do.
  18. Comparison is the thief of joy.
  19. β€˜Someday’ isn’t a date on the calendar, live every single day like it’s your last. You know what they say, tomorrow tomorrow never comes.
  20. Do what you love, life’s too short to be doing otherwise.

Processed with VSCO

 

 

2 thoughts on “Turning Twenty.

Leave a Reply

