Christmas, Christmas, Christmas!!

MERRY CHRISTMAS!

The most magical time of the year has finally returned to grace our presence :’)

Do you celebrate? If yes, how so? And when do you start? In my mind I strictly reserve the definition of Christmas time to the month of December (late November if we’re pushing it guys). Although, not gonna lie, my family and I are the ones who’ll have stray Christmas decorations still up till February or March.

One of my favourite Christmas memories is definitely the time my mom, cousins, sister and I went for an outdoor movie screening of Elf at The Talisman restaurant in Nairobi! Outdoor movie screenings while sat on blankets in gardens enjoying the evening breeze need to become more of a thing!

I think I just have a thing for going out for movies because my second favourite Christmas/New Year memory would have to be when my mom, dad, sister and I went for a drive-in movie for the first time ever!

As a Christian, this is the time of year we celebrate the birth of Jesus Christ.

I just generally love the feel of Christmas time, it’s like there’s something special in the air. The spirit of giving and just all round happiness is infectious.

We’ve never exchanged gifts or had a Christmas tree before but we do put up decorations sometimes, and spend it with extended family when we can, or go out to eat. Plus we may or may not own at least 3 Christmas Carroll  CD’s ahaha.

I think the music’s what I love most about this time of year. It just feels wrong to listen to this kinda music at any other time of year anyway, y’know?

December’s my favourite time of year because of how busy things get! The good kind of busy lol, this is an essay-writing and referencing free zone! The Christmas party count is up to 3 already!

The first was at Tribe (Youth)…

Processed with VSCO

The second was the lovliest thank-you breakfast/brunch at my church for all of us who helped out in Sunday School this year. If you read my earlier post about being a teacher then I guess this is the update! I’m back to it now 🙂

The decorations were so so well done, almost everything was handmade!

The third party was at The St George’s Club in Bird Street! It was my first time there. I went as my mom’s date for her business group’s end of year dinner.

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

I’m no architecture-whiz so I can only describe this as the prettiest sky-roof/open roof I’ve ever seen!

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

Let’s pretend that this cat liked me and wasn’t trying to run away as I chased it around for a picture.

Processed with VSCO

The main course: Vegetarian Lasagna and Asparagus, it was divine ❤

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

AND let’s not forget about traditional Christmas movies to watch!!!!!!!! If you’re not at least watching The Grinch, Home Alone or Elf then you are doing Christmas so wrong my friend! Scrooge, is that you?? Jk 😂

In closing, I think we forget how privileged we are- I’m not talking Justin Bieber with his 3 houses level – but if you have a warm bed to sleep in at night, a roof over your head and food on the table, know that that’s a lot more than so many people can say about their lives. Whether you celebrate Christmas or not, please please do give where you can. My church gives out boxes every year for us to fill with presents and bring back to be distributed to the less fortunate. It’s nice to see just how much everyone has embraced the project. Give where you can.

Hope you’re enjoying the holidays, stay safe! God bless.

x

 

Leave a Reply

