Old Austria

Not too long ago, in celebration of my mom’s birthday Β (forever young that woman is) we went out to Old Austria. I hope to God that someday I’ll be earning enough money to be able to spoil my parents the way they do for my sister Gloria and I. I’ll repay the favour someday soon πŸ™ˆ

Old Austria is one of the oldest restaurants in the entire city. It’s nice to think that despite the passage of time, it has remained a top choice of all who pass through P.E.

Although my mom and dad have spent many-a-date-night here, this was my first ever time visiting the restaurant. If you’re looking for fine dining, then this is the place you need to be *cue Jess Glynne voice* β€œNo place I’d rather be!”

This place is….wow. Am I allowed to use that as an adjective, here? Probably not but I’m going to anyway. The contrast between the outside world and the confines of the restaurant was something else. I honestly felt liked I’d stepped onto a set of a romcom ahahaha. That’s just how beautiful it is, the warm lights, the tables draped in white. The ambience had me feeling all warm and fuzzy inside, so full of love. I probably owe that to the gentle piano-playing in the background. The pianist was excellent, I was so taken by his rendition of Speed of Sound by Coldplay. If you’re thinking of proposing to someone then I found the perfect venue-tbh I was so convinced the guy next to me was gonna pop the question to his date, I left the restaurant rather disappointed that I hadn’t gotten the chance to witness an engagement take place lol.

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

 

Processed with VSCO

Fine dining, fancy restaurants and the like make me rather nervous I must confess, because:

  1. I can’t eat with a knife and fork for the life of me
  2. I always feel like I’m talking too loudly and will upset literally everyone.
  3. The menu sounds like gibberish half the time (Who is this English you speak of? Who that?)

We had the best waitress eveeerrrr. She engaged us in the funniest of conversations, gave us all kinds of helpful food suggestions, checked up on us throughout the night and even told us about her weekend vacation plans. She felt like a friend, and that made her so easy to talk to.

We started off with crumbed mushrooms (how did they maintain a crunchy exterior and moist juicy mushrooms? Magic I tell you) while my sister and I had a veg dish, my mom opted for seafood.

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

 

For like, the first time ever I cleared my plate at a restaurant. Did I feel like I was pregnant with a food baby? Yes πŸ˜‚ but in the best of ways. It was so so worth it.

 

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

Leave a Reply

