Have a Listen

Weekly roundup of music tiiiime 😀

Tom Odell is just one of those musicians who doesn’t just create music, he creates art. And that voooiiice, oml. If these three songs don’t get you roped in to listening to the rest of his music, then (we can no longer be friends) I don’t know what will.

Another Love by Tom Odell

Can’t Pretend by Tom Odell

10 points if you can remember the episode of ‘The 100’ this song featured in 😉

Magnetised by Tom Odell

 

Gravel To Tempo by Hayley Kiyoko

This woman is so so underrated. Her music….I love everything about this song, from the retro sound, to that danciiiinngg aaaah

 

Shut Out of Paradise

This song is such a beauty ❤

 

We Dance Again by Black Coffee feat Nakhane Toure

As usual, I am rather late to the party with this guy, but better late than never, right? Lol. This song is such a tune. Funny thing is I only heard it for the first time while watching the Ultra South Africa 2016 after movie (who’s buying my Ultra 2017 ticket? Bahaha)

 

The Greatest by Sia

Saved the best for last of course 😉 I don’t even know where to start with this one. In my opinion, I’d definitely say that Sia is one of THE greatest vocalists of our time, she makes these powerful songs sound so effortless. This song is no less to her usual genius. I don’t think I can even count the number of times a day I’ve listened to this since it’s come out. When I first saw the video, I was impressed by the choreography, I admire the creative direction her videos take, and her partnership with the amazing 13 year old dancer Maddie Ziegler. When I first saw the video, I didn’t quite know what was going on-and then I found out the meaning behind it all. Mind = blown. The imagery all made sense. The video was made as a tribute to the victims of the Orlando shooting that took place at a gay night-club earlier on this year, as portrayed by the 49 dancers representing those who were killed. Finding out the meaning behind it all left me feeling rather emotionally overwhelmed. I can’t believe we still live in a world where people are targeted for simply being themselves. Where is freedom? Where is love? Where is justice? Where is equality? On a lighter note, this song does make the most amazing self-empowerment anthem as well, so “don’t give up” and remind yourself “I’ve got stamina”.

Leave a Reply

