Seaside city: Port Elizebeth

I’ll admit that it was rather sad writing this post, considering that winter has arrived on this side of the world (RIP being able to wear 3/4 of the clothes in my closet, hello looking death-by-cold-weather in the face on a daily basis). But I had so many pictures lying around that I wanted to put to good use, and it felt good to reminisce on last summer.

For those who may not know, Port Elizabeth is a city in the Eastern Cape, South Africa. There’s so much more to this city than the beachfront alone, so I most certainly will get to all that in due time. However this post will be dedicated to the beach *cueΒ Starships by Nicki Minaj*

For someone who lives in a coastal city, I sure don’t visit the beach much *cue excuses*. In my defence:

  1. I don’t have my own car
  2. I can’t drive the aforementioned imaginary car because I don’t know how to drive to begin with
  3. There’s this little thing called school that keeps me on campus 5 days a week, and busy (stressed, anxious, and on the verge of an existential crisis) 24h/7.

So that is how I end up seeing the beach every day on my way to the university, but not actually going. I think we all take it for granted sometimes.

If you ever visit P.E. you should definitely head down to Summerstrand and hit up the beach πŸ™‚ and there isn’t just one to choose from (Kings Beach– if you’re into skate-boarding there’s a skate park nearby, Hobie Beach where you have to enjoy a stroll down Shark Rock Pier, Pollock Beach or if you’re willing to drive out, Sardinia Bay).Β 

There are a lot of fond memories to look back on having grown up near the sea: building sand castles that were the most indistinguishable of shapes (because who needs a bucket and a spade anyway?), swimming around on the water (even ifit meant sand covering every inch of my body later on), collecting seashells and lining the windowsill at hope with them, if you weren’t too careful, getting the saltwater in your eyes and mouth, burning your throat a little (okay, a lot), and walking all the way to the beach during the holidays when there wasn’t much else to do.

Processed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCOProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with f2 presetProcessed with VSCO with f2 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with f2 presetProcessed with VSCO with f2 presetProcessed with VSCO with f2 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with f2 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO

 

Leave a Reply

