We take a lot of things for granted. The country (wherever that may be)  within which we live being one of them. I can’t even count the number of times I’ve dreamt of vacationing in faraway holiday destinations when most of my own country remained undiscovered territory. I know I’m not alone in this.  Not saying that it’s a crime! If you get the chance to travel across borders then by all means take it, grab it with both hands! Just don’t forget to appreciate the beauty of your own country too 🙂 Funny thing is the country which you live in may be someone else’s dream travel destination, while where you dream of going might not seem like much to whoever lives there. Funny how that works out.

Naivasha is one of those places you can’t help but fall in love with. Lush, green open landscapes, wildlife, peace and quiet…..it’s the perfect escape from the everyday hustle and bustle that life brings. For those of you who might not know, Naivasha is the capital of Nakuru county in Kenya. Naivasha is only a relatively short drive away from the capital city, Nairobi, so a road trip is the way to go!

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

While in Naivasha, my family and I stayed at the Lake Naivasha Country Club. We had a lovely weekend there, the staff were bright and friendly, and I was impressed at how well maintained the grounds were.

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Taking out the time to relax by the lake is a must. With the largely perfect weather, there’s no excuse not to go for a boat ride. Although I will admit that I didn’t go for one while there because a) boats give me motion sickness and b) in case something goes wrong I can not swim for the life of me (primary school and high school P.E teachers, you had one job).

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

 

While here you absolutely HAVE to pay a visit to Hell’s Gate National Park! There’s loads to do while there, be it bike riding, hiking, wildlife-spotting or even camping. We often lose touch with nature, so I feel like it’s important to remind yourself every now and then that, surprise surprise, we aren’t the only inhabitants of this little blue planet. It was also pretty cool to learn that the main setting of The Lion King, was modelled after Hell’s Gate National Park *cue Circle of Life*.

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with b1 preset

3 thoughts on “Why You Should Visit: Naivasha, Kenya

Leave a comment