Musician to watch: Carter Harrell

Not into folk music? I wasn’t either, till this guy came around. For those of you who don’t already know (shout out to all my fellow fangirls) Carter Harrell is a Kenyan-born American singer-songwriter.
When I first heard him play at a music event, Battle of the Bands, hosted by the French school in Nairobi, I was BLOWN AWAY (not that everyone else wasn’t talented either, don’t kill me).

Today marks exactly one year since the release of his EP “Letters To The Wild” which you can check out here:

http://www.carterharrellmusic.com

If you value lyrical content, then this album’s for you. As you may have guessed by the EP name, each song acts as a letter: a letter to Kenya, a letter to a girl, a letter to his father, a letter to himself and a letter to the earth. My favourite song off the EP is ‘Let Me In’ (flashback to his last concert in Nairobi when I was the only one singing along to all the words like an idiot). However, it doesn’t compare to my all time favourite single he has ever released “Drown With Me”. Have a listen, and you can thank me later 😉

To top it all off, this guy is UNBELIEVABLE on stage, he sounds EVEN BETTER LIVE than he does on his already flawless tracks, like I can’t even *cries while demanding a 1000th encore*
I think we should give him extra points for being a total sweetheart in person, too. I had the pleasure of meeting him not too long ago! Psshht no big deal (not really, I lost my ability to speak and smiled like an idiot. The conversation went something along the lines of: “Hi!” *smiles in reply* “How are you?” *smiles in reply* “You good?” *smiles in reply*)
But hey, at least I got a picture hahaha.

Screenshot_2016-05-07-13-00-39-1-1

Please take the time to support this up and comer, you won’t regret it 🙂


Check out he’s covers too! 🙂

 

(Featured photo source: http://www.carterharrellmusic.com

Leave a Reply

